from the side of the road…


I have family that lives about 3 hours south of New York City in the middle of Maryland, just across the lower Susquehana River. It’s a boring drive if you take the turnpike – nothing but cars and the occasional rest stop and a lot of trucks as one passes through the state of New Jersey. Delaware is such a blur that you can get through it in about 20 minutes (if there’s no traffic jam at the tolls). Once into the northern part of the state of Maryland, it’s another dull ride until I cross the river and exit off the highway.

Then it gets a little more interesting…

I suppose you might say that it’s just more trees and farmland and cars. Well, it’s not so many cars and more often stretches of green fields with farmland stocked with bales of hay or high stalks of corn under a blue sky with fluffy white clouds.

When I turn onto this stretch of road I usually have about 10 or 15 minutes until we hit the first traffic light and town. So it’s usually along this strip that I have stopped on the side of the road and captured some images of life on the farm, so to speak, from beyond the wire on the side of the road. It just so happened that I unconsciously repeatedly found one particular spot of interest, and discovered after the third time that I had actually stopped in the same spot and captured the same image but in different seasons…

Now that may not be such a big deal, but sometimes it is nice to see the seasonal changes that have taken place from the same point of reference. So, after turning around in this spot – another trick that I discovered while capturing images during my travels; sometimes you need to look what’s behind you – I preserved forever the images of this wooden post basking in the mid day sun…

…absorbing the browns of autumn…

….and freezing in the middle of an ice storm in winter..

(Not quite the same perspective with the angle of the fencing stretching beyond the post, but you get the idea. After all, this last image was taken in the middle of the winter!!).

See you next time!

