Highlands


During one of my recurring travels to The Philippines, I was shown the world’s smallest active volcano, which is located in the Batangas region. This was a shot I was able to get of the sun breaking through the clouds one morning as it rose over Taal highlands.

The mouth of Taal Volcano is visible here rising above the surrounding waters of the lake.

The area surrounding the lake is populated with several small towns, hill top resorts and fish farms in the lake itself. It is as close to an active volcano that I ever want to get. The views were spectacular, with the sunrise and sunset breathtaking.

When I asked the local guide about evacuation plans in the very real event of a rumbling beneath the ground, he smiled and replied: “how fast can you run?”

I’m sure he was trying to be funny…

Until next time.

