…aawitan kita (I will sing for you)…


I have never been to an opera – never thought I’d like it.

On the last Friday of every month, the office of the mayor of Makati City arranges an outing for the elderly citizens of his city. Last Friday, I accompanied the seniors of Barangay Tejeros and attended the performance of “Aawitan Kita” (I Will Sing For You), given by Armida Siguion-Reyna and cast in the auditorium of the University of Makati.

Armida Siguion-Reyna is a well known Filipino celebrity, singer, film and stage actress, producer and television show host. She was also the former chairperson of the Philippine Movie and Television Review and Classification Board. Born on November 4, 1930, this 80+ year old was a central character in a performance where I didn’t understand most of the words spoken, but the emotional performances by the participants gave me the storyline I needed to enjoy this.

Heck, I’m “technically” a senior in these parts; I may even attend another one of these….

As always, you can click on the photos to get additional description/captions for each image or click on the link for the full gallery of images of Aawitan Kita!

Until next time!

.